German or Bulgarian Makarov? At the same price?

Andrew Bornman

I have located E. German maks for $119.95 in very good condition and the Bulgarians in Excellent condition are 112.95 which one do I want? The bulgarians include a holster. Both come with two mags.

These will be shooters and for my kids when they are older.

Is an E. German in very good condition better than a Bulgarian in excellent condition?

I know that the Bulgarians typically don't have as nice of fit and finish but what about the quality of steel and functionality of the piece?

Hello. I've been most happy with my new commercial Bulgarian, but am told that the E. German guns have smoother trigger pulls and better finish. I'm not a Makarov expert so this is the best I can do. Best.

I have two of the EG Maks, and I'm looking for a good deal on the Bulgarian Mak. The big advantage the EG Mak has for me is I can buy it with my C&R license, thus saving the $25 transfer fee from the local gunshop. I don't attach much significance to the holster, since I doubt I'd be using that holster anyway. :)

From all I've heard, other than a nicer finish, most of the Eastern bloc Maks have excellent reliability, I doubt that should be an issue for either choice. I haven't shot the newest EG Mak, but the other one has never failed in the few hundred rounds it's shot.

Everyone loves their Maks, EG Bulgy Russian.

In general, most people agree that the EG's are a little nicer. I would not make the holster part of the equation. If you can inspect the guns themselves, I would get the one with the best finish and trigger pull. If this is thru Shotgun News or online, it will be a crapshoot. I bet you'll be happy with either. Hey, it's the Holiday season! Why not get one of each? ;)