general questions...

jnestle

Inactive
I am considering casting bullets for a .40cal Springfield xdm primarily just to cut cost of shooting down as much as possible. I would still use factory ammo for self defense. I am just beginning to look into this.
1. Is there a specific "how to" book that you would recommend for a beginner?
2. Do you feel that significant savings can be had in bullet costs verses purchasing some of the other economical ready made bullets - Rainier etc?

thanks in advance for any help,

JNestle

The Lyman cast bullet manual and Modern Reloading by Richard Lee both are great resources. MR goes into casting a bit, but also has a bunch of load data. Also check out the sticky at the top of the forum page.

As far as significant savings by casting your own bullets.....yes. It depends how you acquire your lead...whether it is free or you pay for it. Most guys used recycled WWs from tire shops. The good part about casting is you can adjust both the size and hardness of the bullet....to improve accuracy and reduce/eliminate leading. I am given my lead and brass for free, so I can load a box of 50 for around 2-3 bucks...depending on the caliber. Good luck!

personally i think its worth it. but if you dont have a lot of time on your hands then maybe not. the initial start up cost maybe high so if you dont plan on casting a lot then again it maybe not for you. its a fun new skill to learn and it can be very fun. good luck to ya and have fun!

Very fun! I like it better than reloading. Make a mistake no worries just throw it back into the pot.

Hey JNestle,