[GASP] Looking for an inexpensive 1911 [CHOKE]

Gino

Well, I just got through with my first tactical pistol course, and I'm pretty surprised. I expected the class to be filled with high-tech wonder pistols. Not the case! The best shooters there had 1911s. I've started to rethink the idea of a single action pistol for carry. Ditch the wonder pistols, now maybe I'll carry a 1911? I wouldn't have even thought this before the class. But this whole double action idea might have been a bad one? I don't know, but I'm willing to entertain the thought. I guess it's time to get a 1911 and see for myself...

So, tell me, how cheap can I get a good full sized 1911? I'm talking about spending less than $500. And that's for a fully funtioning pistol - no tuneups by a 1911 guru! What are my options? I've been told that Springfield Armory has good, reliable, inexpensive guns. What do you guys think? I REALLY need some help here since I have ZERO experience with this type of gun.

Thanks in advance,
Gino

Gino

Hate to burst your bubble, but there is no such thing as a sub $500 1911 that you can bet your life with!!!! For that price take a real good look at the Euro pistols from Glock, Sig, HK, Beretta and Walthers. They are combat ready out of the box and they go BANG! every time you squeeze the trigger.

Robert

[This message has been edited by Robert the41MagFan (edited December 10, 1999).]

No problem! Look at second hand Colts, Springfields, and Kimbers. New Colt 1991's and Mil Spec 1911's from Springfield can be had in your price range.

All you have to do is go look for them.

Johnboy

If you want brand new, look at a Milspec Springfield. Also, don't overlook the Sig p220. KY imports has them for 500 bucks, take a good hard look at this gun.

[This message has been edited by MusclesMcGee (edited December 08, 1999).]

Gino,