Gander Mountain

Photon Guy

So I've heard that in certain Gander Mountain locations they have handgun classes. Does anybody know much about this? How good are they? How much shooting do you do?

As far as I know there is no actual shooting, I don't know of a Gander Mountain that has a shooting range in it. I am quite sure it is only classroom.
I could be wrong.

I have no experience with Gander Mountain training but the quality of any training is going to depend heavily on your instructor(s).

Most have a classroom. They rent or make other arrangements with instructors of many courses on many subjects. The Dayton area fly fishing club hosts fly tying classes there in the winter. The Gander CCW courses in my area use ranges at other locations to qualify. It is a pretty nice class room. Not Gander staff giving the classes.

I signed up for my first CCW class there and ended up pretty ticked. Was 40 minutes from where I lived at the time and I was the only one to show at 7 am on a Saturday, so the instructors canceled the class. Wouldn't even give me a discount on the next class. Gander Mountain basically said they just rented the facility and not their problem.

Last edited:
To give the NRA pistol course, shooting the handgun is required. (In NY state that seems to be waved because it is illegal) The instructor at the local Gander Mountain here is a good man.

rebs: In NY state it is illegal to even hold a handgun unless you are licensed. And in my county (each county has it's own requirements) the NRA Basic Pistol Course is required to even get an application for a license. So you end up with people getting a license to carry, sometimes with restrictions, before they have even held a pistol.

It's stupid, yes. Would you give a person a driver's license who has never driven a car?