From zero to two 1860s in a single evening (Damn online auctions!)

Big-Blue

A couple of weeks ago I started learning about Cap and Ball (C&B). I was at a my LGS looking at a single fire Kentucky percussion pistol, when the guy brought out a Colt Dragoon. I swear, I had no idea there was such a thing as a black powder revolver. I was amazed -- and hooked.

I started reading everything I could find on the web about them. I watched YouTube videos and asked around at work (that was a dry hole of information). I started visiting the local pawn shops and decided I wanted a Colt 1860 Army replica.

Today, I logged onto a popular online gun auction site to see what was available. I found that the guns were cheaper than my local pawn shops, and the selection was quite a bit better. The next thing I knew -- I had won an auction. The gun was about what I was looking for and the price was 30% cheaper than my local shops. One new gun in the mail would have been enough for any normal person, but then I saw the Army I was destined to own. Except for the "Colt" name, it had everything I wanted. Before I knew it, that auction was won as well. Yes, I should have skipped the first one and waited for the second -- but hey, I'm only human.

Yeah, black powder percussion revolvers were very popular during the Civil War and the Old West. Wild Bill, Wyatt Earp, they all carried them.

Nice, and yes pics are necessary. Just a tip, check out Cabelas website, I have found that when they have a sale you can get brand new Piettas and Uberti Reproduction cap and ball revolvers cheaper than some online auction prices. Beware though Cabelas is the drug dealer and we are the addicts haha

Yes! We are here to help you! I am sure you will love your Colt Armys, I have a '51 Navy and it is so fun, I am actually in the process of cleaning it up as it's been sitting in storage covered in WD-40.

two 1860's