FN quality and warranty?

ghbucky

My brother is interested in an FN 9mm. I have no experience with FN, but as far as I know they have a good rep.

Does anyone have any feedback on their handguns or their customer service?

I have the FNX tactical in .45 acp. The gun feels like plastic but it works flawlessly. This was a gift from my brother so I shoot it. I carry 1911's so the FNX feels like a toy gun. The company is a solid and reputable company, I would buy with confidence if I liked them.

FN is a major US military contractor with a long history of making great weapons like the Browning Hi Power and the FAL. Browning himself actually respected them enough to leave this country and go work for FN in Belgium. He died on the job at their factory. Definitely a top quality world-class weapons manufacturer.

My FN 509 is a fine pistol, obviously well made, and has functioned perfectly through hundreds of rounds at this point. Don’t know about their service. Haven’t needed it.

I just handled a 509, and I know striker fired aren't known for crisp triggers, but this was awful. Long, rough first stage, hard break, and a mushy reset.

Might have been just that gun, but ick.

I have three FN pistols.

All were purchased in the 2012-2013 time frame.

FNX 45, FNX 40 and a FNS 40.

The FNS was my first striker fired handgun.

Both 40 have 9mm barrels and 9mm magazines and 357 Sig barrels.

4-5000 rounds through each. the 40s have shot mostly 40 but lots of 357 Sig and 9mm.

Never a failure. The first shots from the 45 were with some sorry Ammo One ammo and it wouuld not fire.....all I could get at the time during the oweblamerliar ammo shortage..

I carry the FNS and the FNX 40s on a rotating basis and the FNX 40 has the 357 Sig barrel in it.........and that caliber is very accurate out of the FN guns.

I can not remember what the warranty is, but aI have neve had to use it.