First shooting experience with my new 85UL Titanium.

andreb

After looking at my new gun for about 3 weeks sitting in the closet I decided it was time to take it out foe some practice. I stoped by the range and because it was early in the morning they had no 38 spl reloads available at the moment. They offered me some short 38's ( believe it's called 38 SW). I started shooting with it and it was as good as it gets for a light snub like mine. After 30 shots I decided to try some 158gr JHP +P I bought with the gun for defense. WOOOOWWWWWWW!!!!!!! That was my initial reaction. Maybe It's because I'm used to my Glock 25 or maybe it's because we don't have access to more powerful calibers in Brazil but the recoil was pretty strong. I can't even imagine what shooting 357's out of a lightweight snub feels like. I guess I'll have to practice a lot with hotter loads to become proficient with this little guy instead of practicing with less powerful reloads. Any thoughts? Should I keep practicing with hot loads since in very light guns it makes a huge difference or should I practice with weak reloads and save the hotter stuff for carry and protection?

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Regards,

André

I think you should practice with at least heavy specials. Comes crunch time you might need more than one shot.

You might look at the fired .38spec brass from it. If it chambered the .38 S&W rounds it sounds like your chambers are pretty big. Ideally they shouldn't go in. Some guns handle them with no problems and others are loose enough to really bulge the proper sized brass.

Sam