First Enfield No1 MKIII* for me

easyliven88

I am totally new to the Enfield world, but not to the Surplus world. I acquired this for $90 with 30 rds. I haven't stripped it done yet so maybe there are some more markings that I haven't discovered. I can't find any import markings which means it was a bring back? I will be refurbishing the furniture when the weather warms as my workbench is in the garage. The bore is in great shape, bolt action is nice and smooth and the trigger action is smooth also. The wood is real shinny from shellac? Also there is a split in the wood that needs some serious attention. I noticed the green anti-corrosion paint, they were treated for operating in the North African and Pacific theatres. Any comments or advice would be much appreciated...Enjoy the pics

Austrian Militia police (Gendarmerie)

You have stumbled upon an Austrian State Police rifle that was donated by the Brits right after WWII ended. As of late, the few that I have seen on Gunbroker have prices on them about 5 times what you paid for that one.

I bought one waaaaaay back in the 60s, and it also had the green paint on it; Don't remove it

The shellac, however, is not original, so you can remove it with some lacquer thinner if you want then replace with linseed (or Linspeed) oil. Try to keep sanding of the wood at an absolute bare minimum, however. None would be better.

Nice find!

BTW: 30 rounds of .303 is probably about $15.00 worth today, so you can subtract that from the cost of the rifle. LOL!!