First attempt at annealing, what should I expect?

ReloadKy

Good morning folks! I decided a little while back to give my "homemade" annealer a shot. I annealed about 20 30-06 cases and about 20 7 mag cases.

After annealing what should I expect with the results of the brass; tighter groups? Lower SD and ES? Brass that is easier to work with? Or should I just expect to get a few more firings out of my brass?

This is my first attempt so I am looking for a little guidance into expected results before shooting the annealed brass. Thanks.

Here's a good question: why are you doing it? What do you think it's going to do? There's a purpose to annealing, but there's also some logic behind it other than just doing it and expecting something to happen. It's done when cases become harder/brittle and start to crack. Those who do it keep track of how many times the cases were fired and know when to do it to prevent the cracking. Also, some do it when making wildcat cases so that they form better. So, why are you doing it and what are you expecting to happen? Just doing it and hoping your reloads will shoot better might be a disappointment to you. It simply may not do anything to your groups.

"...just expect to get a few more firings out of my brass?..." Yep. That's all annealing does. It has nothing to do with accuracy or anything else. Should be more than a 'few more' though.
Keep in mind that red hot is too hot as well. You only heat the cases until the brass changes colour then cool 'em in plain tap water. That's why the best "Homemade" annealer is a plain pan of water.

Expect longer life and ease of use -- if done properly.
Anything else is just a bonus.
Neck tension should be more uniform, which can translate to better performance down range. But if there wasn't a problem to begin with, or that variable was/is overshadowed by something bigger, you'll see no change.