Finished my Great Plains Rifle!

Hey guys,

After about a year of research, work, and procrastination I finished my Lyman Great Plains Rifle kit! I'm very proud of it, and though it isn't perfect, I think I did pretty well on it, especially since it's my first time ever assembling a kit. Here are some pictures of it:

Very nice work !!!

From what I can see, you did a fine job on this project. I have seen more than my share of bad work. The best advice I ever read on doing kits, is to be patient with the project and yourself. .... ;)

What are your plans for the RamRod?

Thanks for your post and;
Be Safe !!!

Pahoo, thanks. :) Very good advice, though I do think that I might have been too patient, and I might have spaced the work out too much.

I'm not sure what to do with the ramrod, I'll keep this one, as it works just fine for me, but I may or may not stain it to match the rifle. What do you think?

Very nice. I have one also, not a flintier but the best shooter of
all my front loaders. Those are fine rifles.:D

That ramrod will stain itself over time and usage.
:)
Postscript: Get a non-breakable range [ram]rod:
http://www.buffaloarms.com/Muzzleloader_Ramrods_it-853823.aspx?CAT=5593
Put a 54cal cleaning jag on it;
http://www.trackofthewolf.com/list/Item.aspx/580/1
drop it into the [empty] barrel; cut off the excess about 5-6" above the muzzle; and glue on a palm-saver.
http://www.midwayusa.com/product/761028/cva-palm-saver-wood

Use that at the range (where 96⅓% of your shooting will be.

;)

Last edited:
All in good time

I'm not sure what to do with the ramrod
I often have to replace RamRods on SideLocks and "try" to come up with a match. There is no better wood than old Hickory. It can run in different shades but mostly fairly light. An old BuckSkinner once told me that it was common practice for the old guys to soak their rods in Kerosene for extended periods. I never cared for that smell. There are also many ways to apply patterns onot a rod. .... :p