Filing an Amici Curiae Brief Supporting Heller

GHF

Like everybody on the form, I am more than mildly interested in District of Columbia vs Heller. I am interested in filing an amici curiae brief supporting Heller.

I am not a lawyer, so I would be filing pro se. Having been involved in several civil cases, doing some rather extensive research in legal documents, and writing as a kind of para legal a number of cases where I was the technical expert on the issues of the case, I think I can write legal enough to make my points clear.

I am completing some project work in an area of the county (Bloomburgville) where my personal situation is analogous to Heller’s in the District of Columbia, and I want to provide to the Court that experience to expand their view of the issues.

In reviewing www.supremecourtus.gov, I can not find

1. the format for
  2. the filing date for
  3. the method or methods of delivery
to do this.

Are there any lawyers or other legal professionals out there that can answer my questions?

If anyone wants to run with this it is open for discussion. Perhaps my premises are flawed but that doesn't mean that someone else couldn't make the argument better.

If I were to file a brief it would contain only two points:

The States' Right or Collective Right premise is fatally flawed by the very writings of the Founders in the main body of the Constitution which predates the Bill of Rights.

1. The word "Right" (capitalization in the original) appears only once in the main body of the Constitution; and that single usage applies to individuals. When the Constitution mentions the States, the Judiciary, the Congress, or the Executive only the words "Power" or "Powers" is used.

To promote the Progress of Science and useful Arts, by securing for limited Times to Authors and Inventors the exclusive Right to their respective Writings and Discoveries;

Article I, Section 8, Para 8

So there cannot be a "State right" when none exists in the Constitution.