Few questions about Felonies & Guns.

rburch

Ok, I have a few younger friends/relatives, that did some stupid things and are now facing possible Felony Convictions. Not anything violent, but still pretty bad.

I know if convicted they can't have guns, but I don't know how that affects me. I have a CCW, can I legally have my weapon on me if I stop by their house for a visit?

What about if they visit me? Most of my guns are in a glass fronted cabinet in the living room. Can they come into my house?

Also I used to hunt with them sometimes, if they decide to keep hunting (with a bow obviously) can I hunt with them with a gun?

Oh if it helps, I'm in Virginia.

I'm no expert, but I think so long as you never give or sell them any guns, you should be fine. I don't think I'd risk hunting with them, especially if they wanna use one of your guns. If you know they're convicted felons, you could face charges.

googabeest, they aren't convicted yet.

But in any case if I hunted with them, they'd have a bow or crossbow.

I deal with this situation. One of the finest human beings I know, now in his 50's, was caught at age 19 with 22lbs of pot :(.

Part of my answer is to carry in a fully enclosed fanny pack on my person at all times, not (for example) dropped onto the floor of a car or the car's trunk.

The basic idea is, you don't want them ever to be accused of being in possession of the thing.

Prime example of how government is getting more powerful

and making the people who it is supposed to serve less so. It is making more and more people 2nd class citizens with limited rights.

As Jim has pointed out, the law revolves around what "possession" means. Your friend(s), if convicted cannot ever be "in possession" of a firearm.