Fair Chase?

Blev

Hi, folks.

I went hunting for the first time last year (deer hunting)so I admit up front that I am pretty new to this. I am teaching myself by reading and asking questions of folks when I get the opportunity. I have recently came across the term "fair chase." I heard it on a hunting show and I read it somewhere. I imagine that it has something to do with not taking shots you are not sure of and following hunting laws but I have never seen an actual explanation, just a couple of exhortations to "follow the rules of fair chase." Would y'all please enlighten me?

Thanks,
Blev

To me, fair chase means that the animal has the opportunity, and ablitity to run away, that it isn't just penned in and shot. Spotlighting, and other illegal activities violate the "fair-chase" creed.

In my experience, whitetail deer pretty much take care of the fair chase part themselves (I've seen them clear 6' "game-proof fences"). Where you run into issues are game ranches that release a pen raised animal to a small pasture, essentially ring the dinner bell, then let some yahoo shoot the critter. This is certainly not the norm for game ranches, but it does happen. The one operation that comes to mind is an outfit in Colorado called Avery Ranch. According to a "Hunting" show I saw a while back, you are guaranteed a 6x6 bull elk for $4995. You don't even need a license, presumably because you are shooting some guys livestock. He (Avery), raises elk in a pen (they even showed him feeding them from his hands) then releases them on a 1100 acre pasture, and Avery calls them in for some shooter to shoot. SAD!