Eye Dominance and Training....

5whiskey

So I was taught about eye dominance years and years ago. I am right eye dominant, right handed... so it never mattered much for me until I started training in non-dominant side shooting. It still didn't really matter much, other than I had to "think" about centering my left eye in the sight plane when shooting left side barricade and such, and even then i trained out of havimg to "think" about it quick enough. I never had to think about eye dominance when shooting pistol at all, regardless of which hand I'm shooting with (I practice right and left handed).

In general, the most I have seen from cross-eye dominance (left eye dominant, right handed shooter or vice versa) is as an excuse for marginal shooters to continue to jerk the crap out of the trigger, flinch, focus on the target and not the front sight, etc.... and continue to blame their poor accuracy on eye dominance. They look at me mystified when I explain that if eye dominance was their only issue, and they did everything else well, that they would still have good groups but just off center of target. At worst, if they are alternating between eyes as the focus point, they would have the "two distinct groups" phenomena.

Case in point. I'm running qualification for my agency yesterday. An officer that recently came up to us from another agency comes up to me during dinner break. He stated that he has never been a "great" shooter, but he considered himself competent and he had confidence when it came to qualifying. He then described how that seemed to change when an instructor at his prior agency pointed out that he is cross eye dominant, and now he just couldn't "get right." I worked with him on doing some dry fire for about 15 minutes, largely stressing that he needs to forget about eye dominance. In the end, he qualified first go with a much better score during night qualification (when I would argue eye focus matters more).

Thoughts? Anyone else observed this?