Extreme point of impact change

olduser

Have my Ruger 77 in 30-06 sighted dead on at 100 yds using 150 gr. Nosler Partition with 46.0 gr. BLC-2. Velocity 2790 fps.
Tried some factory Remington 150 gr. Core Lokts. When I fired them they grouped 6.5 inches higher than my hand loads. Windage was exactly the same. Published velocity of factory load is 2910 fps. Horizontal position was exactly the same.
I know the velocity difference is 120 fps but I have been loading for about 50 years and this is the most extreme shift of point of impact for bullets of the same weight that I have seen. I would have expected the two loads to group about 3 inches apart at the most.
Anybody have a ready explanation?

Well, I'm wondering if you typoed your BL-(C)2 load. At 46 grains, it is 3 grains below Hodgdon's starting load for that powder in the '06, and if you used the same brass and primer they do for the Nosler BT, then you'd be at about 75% case fill and 34,800 CUP pressure and would get about 2635 fps from Hodgdon's 24-inch test barrel. Yet you are reporting higher velocity than Hodgdon has for its 49.0-grain starting load.

If your load is actually 46 grains, I would guess your velocity reading is off unless your barrel is really long. Hodgdon's data suggests you'd need a 40-inch barrel to get 2790 fps out of that load. But if you typoed and your load is actually 49 grains, then Hodgdon's data suggests a 26-inch barrel could get you to that velocity.