Epoxy to attach receiver sight?

littlephil

No I don't mean as a permanent solution, just to hold it on until I can borrow the use of a drill press to d&t. The only real problem I can see will be if I need to remove it from the rifle later. This is on a mauser action if it makes any difference. I have some jb quick (though probably not the best idea for reason of later removal) but could also pick up something a little better suited. The reason for this epoxy idea is because I have no (to my knowledge) means of holding the sight in place to mark where the holes will be. Any suggestions are welcome and greatly appreciated.

PHIL: Which kind of sight? How big? how heavy?
Epoxy will hold if sight is not too big/heavy. Heat from a heat gun will loosen bond w/o harming the action. Some epoxies will set with a little elasticity instead of setting hard and brittle. (I think they're the 'quick-set 5 min. type. They might be the best to try first). The slight elasticity will keep the sight tightly in place without the chance of breaking loose from the recoil and the brittleness not adhering to the metal. Worth a try.

Been there once......Long time ago with a SS shotgun. Both front and rear sights.

WILL

Last edited:
WILL, the sight is a Williams 5D-JEMS. It's not very heavy at all, a couple ounces at most. I'll have to see what I can find at the store the next time I stop. Thanks for the quick reply.

3M Double sticky tape

Let me suggest something that I often use and by all means, I'm not making any guarantees. I wish I could see a better view of the contact surface but here it goes. ...... :rolleyes: