Elk hunting

FinnishForce

Inactive
Hi guys! I'm new to hunting deer and elk, so I thought this might be a good place to come ask questions. I've hunted waterfowl and grouse so far, so I have none experience whatsoever when it comes to hunting bigger game.

So, first off, what do I need? For rifle, I have a 6.5x55 scoped Swedish Mauser bolt action. I'll probably use Hornady light magnums or Lapua or Norma ammunition. Any ammo has to have at least a 140gr bullet and 2000 ft*lbs at 100m. What for field dressing? How about other gear?

The scope is a 4x40 Tasco. I might end up changing it, because the crosshairs tend to get blurry. Any suggestions? Please consider that I also plan to use the rifle for hunting bird (local law allows it and it's very common here), so no red dot sight suggestions, please.

Most likely I'll hunt in a small group. 2-3 people p'haps. No dog. At least not yet.

So, what's the best way? Stalking or set positions? What's the maximum range you should take a shot at? Any advice whatsoever is appreciated, since I don't know a thing about hunting hunting elk and deer so far.

Btw, any mechanical or electronic calling device is illegal here. And another thing. Local deer are probably 50-70lbs and biggest elk are about 600lbs. So I don't know, you guys might have bigger ones over there in the USA so take that into consideration if it affects anything.

Wow 50-70# deer and you have to use 140gr!?!?! What country are you in? The habitat? terrain of where you hunt matters alot too, are long shots a possibuility? hunting brush?

Ummm... I don't remember, deer might be 110gr minimum or something like that, but elk definetely is 140gr (or actually 9grams).

I live in Finland. The hunting terrain is mostly forest or field. Marshes would be good too, because of the long lines of sight and elks can be easily found, but I don't particularly like the thought of dragging a 500lb elk out of a marsh. Most elk seem to prefer young birch and conifer forests.