Elevation and Humidity

I started shooting at age three....killed my first deer at age 5. I have been around guns and shooting and reloading my whole life. I feel a little deprived that no one ever educated me on the effects of humidity and elevation on ballistics....and that my scientifically trained mind (Bachelors of Science), never initiated the research until recently.....yeah, I'm 48 years old.

About two weeks ago, I started playing with some of the ballistic calculators that are available on the web, notably the one by Hornady. Initially, I was trying to decide if I wanted to buy a bolt action 7.62x39 and then I started researching the ballistics of hand loads.

At some point, I clicked on the Advanced feature and too my surprise, it allowed be to input elevation and humidity....along with some other inputs. So I started playing. Living in Colorado, this is actually a big deal, as most ballistics data is defaulted at about 1,000 elevation and 60-80% humidity.

===============================

So here are a couple of comparisons for the 7.62x39 with a 150gr Speer SP Hand Load......

Sea Level with 80% humidity and 60 degrees (maybe a winter hunt in Louisiana)

FPS/ENERGY
Muzzle = 2,400/1,918
400 yds = 1,659/916 (with 200yd zero, drop is -33.5")

8,000 feet elevation with 20% humidity and 30 degrees (Colorado hunt)

FPS/ENERGY
Muzzle = 2,400/1,918
400 yds = 1,800/1,079 (with 200yd zero, drop is -30.7")

===================================

Here are a couple of comparisons for the 30'06 with a 165gr Speer SP Hand Load......

Sea Level with 80% humidity and 60 degrees (maybe a winter hunt in Louisiana)

FPS/ENERGY
Muzzle = 2,920/3,124
400 yds = 2,120/1,647 (with 200yd zero, drop is -21")

8,000 feet elevation with 20% humidity and 30 degrees (Colorado hunt)

FPS/ENERGY
Muzzle = 2,920/3,124
400 yds = 2,276/1,899 (with 200yd zero, drop is -19.4")

=========================