Educate me on scopes

Pops1085

Hi all, so I am actually pretty new to shooting at distances with rifles and scopes and was wondering if you guys could answer a few questions for me. For my whole life I've mainly just shot iron sights out to 100 yards and have very limited experience beyond that range. Anyways, when I have shot rifles with scopes I always felt like I was more accurate when I was shooting with a lower magnification and wobbled much less and felt like I jerked much less than with higher magnifications. Does that make sense to any of you or is it just me? I guess I'd like to know whether it's easier to shoot more accurately with high magnification or low.

My end goal here is eventually to learn how to shoot out too longer distances such as 500 yards, but that's obviously a ways away.

There are always tradeoffs.

For my whole life I've mainly just shot iron sights out to 100 yards
That is impressive in itself and give yourself some credit. .... :)

I guess I'd like to know whether it's easier to shoot more accurately with high magnification or low.
At face value, I have to say; YES .... ;)

Now comes the whatever. It all depends on the service and quality of the optics. If you are hunting, then you don't need as much magnification as opposed to punching paper at 200yds. Ideally you only want enough magnification to have a decent group, into the bull. Generally, the higher the magnification the more wobble in your field. Can you be more specific?

Thanks and;
Be Safe !!!

Yes I understand what you are talking about. The same effect happens if you have a camera with high zoom and it is being held by hand it shakes a bunch. If the same camera is placed on a tripod it stabilizes. If you have a good rest to shoot from you will get a much better stable view. If you have the magnification cranked and are standing it will be much harder to stabilize than it if you have it on a bi pod.