Double Taps and SD shooting

Chris1911

Just curious.. I have been plinking with my handguns for a few years now, but I think its time to practice SD shooting more often (Doubletaps, or any SD training really)....Can anyone share with us some good drills to work on? At what distance should I be shooting from? Are silhouette targets the best? What is considered decent in terms of groups? The scenarios can include both 2 legged and 4 legged predators ;) Any and all input will be greatly appreciated.

Chris 1911

I'm also interested in any suggestions you guys might have for drills. Like Chris I've been shooting for a couple of years, but usually focus more on slow fire. I've gotten to the point where I can produce pretty good groups out to about 25 yards, but when I try rapid fire, doubletaps, etc, things really go to hell. Any drills, pointers, etc you guys can offer would be appreciated.

P.S. I'm lucky enough to have access to an outdoor range which, at least during the week, is almost always completely empty. This gives me the flexibility to set up multiple targets, to try shoot and move drills etc. without creating any safety issues for others, even though the range is a pretty traditional set up.