Don't Hammer your ball!

deerslayer303

When I can't get to the range I watch shooting videos :D. Seems its a common theme for people to beat the snot out of the ball "to ensure no air space". I do get the reason behind it, but man all that hammering is NOT necessary and CAN'T be good for accuracy. In one video the fella actually takes his short starter, used it as a hammer and pounds on the ram rod. I can only imagine what the ball looked like after all that. Then the clip of his target (a silhouette) confirmed my thoughts. One hole at the top, one hole at the very bottom right, and one hole at the very bottom left. If you push (not hammer) the ball down to your loaded mark on the ram rod then there is no air space. Maybe its just me but I cringe watching some of these folks. In the grand scheme of things I am a NEWB also, but I guess I learned from the best, (YOU ALL). ;)

Last edited:
Always a better way !!!

Maybe its just me but I cringe watching some of these folks. In the grand scheme of things I am a NEWB also, but I guess I learned from the best,
Well, as you can tell by the replies, you are not alone. Loading techniques like this usual come from old BuckSkinner and older habits. I know because I started out as one. ...... ;)

In fact, there are many old habits that we do not teach. Most may not be safe but certainly bad habits. They bounce the Ramrod to make sure the ball is seated. If consistency is the game, how do you measure a bounce of pounding. There is always a better way ..... ;)

Be Safe !!!

And you cringe watching some other pound down by hand a ball or two.~really. I've had to rod balls down with the use of a tree because a barrel was so fouled with pyrodex. I've seen others use a wooden mallet. Watching that I'll bet would curl your toes.:D