Does anyone convert vintage 27s/28s to 8-shot .357?

Jim March

C title...I have no qualms about buying an old S&W N-Frame S&W and having it converted with an 8-shot cylinder, if any reputable gunsmiths are doing this. There's a good 8-shot speedloader now available for the Taurus 608 that should work, or we could switch to moonclips.

I saw an ad on gunbrokers for a "Smolt", a custom model 28 with a Python barrel :). Converted to 8-shot, man, that'd be slick :).

I am not an expert, but would you be able to cram an eight shot cylinder in there without skimping too much on the thickness of the cylinder wall?

Why pay a king's ransom for a custom job when the product already exist. Taurus 608 (eight shot) is a Smith action with a Colt (look) barrel. Last time I checked, they were under four hundred bucks.

BTW moon clips made for the 627 Performance Center don't fit the Taurus gun. Holes don't line up.

There was an outfit that made 8 shot conversions for older six shot 627's. I believe that Sixguns.com has a write up somewhere in their web site.

Robert

Baumanize in NY state once performed 7-shot .357 Magnum conversions on the M27/M28, but the company disappeared around the same time that Taurus introduced their large frame 607 (pre-608) and S&W introduced the 686+.

RPM/Prest Precision in Arizona made an eight .38 Super conversion for N-frame revolvers, but it represented more than just a change in cylinders. The gunsmith Charlie Prest started with a standard S&W N-frame revolver, stripped out nearly everything, offset the barrel axis and firing pin slightly higher, machined a new 8-shot .38 Super cylinder from 17-4 stainless, fit a BarSto barrel blank, and reworked the action to around 7 pounds. (This is the Reader's Digest condensed description, BTW.) The full-house IPSC conversion was once quoted around $2,000. Unfortunately, I have heard reports that Mr. Prest no longer offers gunsmithing services.