Does anyone actually prefer round nose bullets?

Dogger

I know that the modern spitzer has many advantages... but do any of you actually prefer hunting with round nose bullets? Does anyone load up their 6.5, 7mm, or .308 with round nose bullets for hunting? Hornady offers a round nose interlock in a wide variety of calibers. What are your pet loads and for what game? Thanks.

remington 180 gr corelockt and 165 gr spire point.
i know that the ballistic tip is all the rave now but i have seen to many people shoot close in game w/ them and lose the game. i think they are best used out of 100 yards.
then what do you do when one walks up at 25 yards.
i like the consistancy of the coelockt's. i have been using them in my 308 BLR for 13 years w/ optimum results.

You don't really get the advantages of spitzers until you go past 200 yards. The nice thing about roundnose bullets is that you have a bit more room to adjust the bullet seating depth if you reload. My experiance indicates that they shoot much better than folks realize.

My favorite whitetail load for close hunting was the .30 caliber 170 grain Nosler Partition flatpoint. I used it in an '06 with great results. I'll probably resurrect something similar for my .308 Scout.

Giz

My 30/30's tubular magazine does :D Seriously though, most folks are kidding themselves loading up for Eastern whitetails with the most expensive spitzer boattails. A flat base spitzer is all you need, and under 150 yds, there's no practical difference for the round nose either. I have some 180gr core-lokt roundnoses loaded up as my .308 black bear load.