Direct to rifle literature request

Renol

Inactive
I'm new to rifles in general, but I've always been fond of them. A while back I bought my first rifle Remington 783 in .30-06 to learn on. I know I know I should've gone with a 22 rim fire and then something in .223. Done is done.

Point is I understand how it works in terms of basic principle, but I want to know more about the mechanics of rifles in general and what features make the gun itself accurate.

No this isn't a "how do I make a gun accurate" thread, but a request for direction. Does anyone know any good books or resources from experts that discuss modern rifles (both bolt and semi) and what mechanically makes them operate well or not so well. My end goal is to be able to pick up any rifle and know if the gun itself is in good operating condition and what features it has or doesn't have that are a part of it's construction.

For example I've heard terms of bedding, free floating barrels, barrel nuts, rifling spin etc. I kinda know a little bit about those just from having researched the 783, but its scratch the surface type stuff not diving into the deep end like I want.

I like to know the whys basically. I know my gun has a barrel nut and free floating barrel but I have no idea why those are desirable (or not). I'd prefer to not remain ignorant.

TLDR

Point me to solid reading on modern rifles and features of that can fill me with knowledge and make me less of an ignorant idiot.

Many thanks in advance.

If there are any gun sdhows nearby, you might look for older editions of "Gun Digest."

And if you can find a copy, P.O. Ackley's two volume set "Handbook for Shooters and reloaders."

A little dated, and hard to find, but a wealth of information.

Doubtful about shows nearby, but I'll keep a weather eye out.

Funny thing is I'd like to get into reloading seeing as how hand loads are the way to go for accuracy so your suggestion is quite appropriate.