Dillon Carbide Size/Deprime Die .357 Sig

slice38

Inactive
I have been reloading for about six years now. I have only used Redding dies which I have had perfect experience with. Absolutely perfect.

I am about to start .357 Sig now and am looking at dies. Since Redding does not make a .357 Sig carbide sizing die, and based on my research, I was about to buy both a Redding .40 S&W carbide sizing die and a Redding .357 Sig sizing die. Now I see that Dillon does make a Carbide Size/Deprime Die for .357 Sig (their stock number 16513).

I have had no experience with Dillon. Has anyone had experience with this particular die? Is it better to go ahead and buy both of the Redding dies and stay away from the Dillon die? If that die works for .357 Sig, I can't understand why the other manufacturers would not make one of their own. I guess I'm skeptical based on the "if it looks too good to be true, it probably isn't" maxim.

Would appreciate hearing from those of you with .357 Sig loading experience.

Thank you sincerely,
Big Mike

Sorry I cannot speak specifically to the Sig. I have however been very pleased with all of my Dillon dies. When I got my Dillon press I soon started replacing my other dies, mostly RCBS, with Dillon. The other dies work but the Dillon dies set up in the press with less time and work, for me. The 9mm are probably the closest to sig that I have and they work great.

Dillon makes some top notch dies, I think thier 357 sig die is a combo of carbide and steel. The carbide sizes the body and steel sizes the neck. Its very hard to mill carbide to the shape of the case. I use the 40 die to size and then run it through the 357 sig die to neck size so I do have to lube. I got my dies 10 years ago before Dillon came out with thiers.

I don't have the Dillon 357 Sig carbide die. I use the 40 carbide with the 357 steel Sig route.