Did you purchase an "Auto Key Card"?

Mike38

If so, you may want to lawyer up. This is the first I've ever heard of an "Auto Key Card" but if I understand it correctly, it is a piece of stainless steel about the size of a credit card that's engraved with lines where you bend and/or machine, then install to turn an AR15 into full auto. The owner of the company was recently arrested for selling these items, and the BATFE is requesting that anyone that bought these should call them. I'm no lawyer, but I would think calling a lawyer first is in order. Video here:

https://youtu.be/f3zU2a3Xaak

I had never even heard of these things until the hubbub started. I have no dog in the fight but what the hell were these “supposed” to be?????

I mean I get they had an etching of an auto sear/link whatever on a credit card thing but what were they sold as??? Like the suppressors that were sold as “solvent traps” what were these supposed to be?

I thought the lighting link required a special bolt carrier ?
Correct, and also special hammer, but there are enough M16 bolt carriers in use to be an issue for the BATFE. I'm not sure how they will make this fly, but I would not want to find out, either. They will probably bury some poor sucker in legal debt whether they win or lose.

I thought the lighting link required a special bolt carrier ?

Correct, and also special hammer,

There is at least one design that does not require a special hammer, only the GI M16 bolt carrier.

What bothers me most, at this point is the apparent inconsistency in the application of logic by a govt agency purporting to enforce the law.