Deer Hunting With 30-30 and 35 Remington In Indiana?

Buckgrunt

Inactive
Hello Friends:

Does anyone think the day will soon come when the 30-30 and 35 Remington cartridges will be legal for deer hunting in Indiana when fired through rifles? If so, why, and if not, why not?

Thanks for your imput,
Buckgrunt

Last edited:
I certainly don't have your answer, but I didn't realize that you can't use either one now. I suppose Indiana is a 'shotgun' state. Sorry to hear that.

Buckgrunt

I wouldn't expect it to happen UNLESS hunters' such as yourself petition the DNR and/or the state legislators to make it happen.

It makes no sense to me, that Indiana, Illinois, and Iowa allow the use of modern muzzleloaders but still prohibit the use of centerfire rifles. In fact I started a thread on here sometime back about this issue.

If I was an Indiana resident, I would start by contacting my state representative and state senator about making the change you are seeking.

You are not alone in odd rules on what you can use.

Here in Florida during the "small game season", when hogs are still legal and when you can use rifled shotguns and pistols ( any caliber! ) and muzzle loaders, I can't take my .35 Rem.......

This is on WMAs.........private land is different.

It's a old regulation that needs updating.

Of course the issue of HUNTER ORANGE not being mandatory during the small game season also needs updating even if the rifle regulations are not changed.

correct misinformation

I came across this old thread in searching for some more information about the 35 Remington cartridge.
Thought I might correct some glaring errors previously posted:
"Indiana, Illinois, and Iowa allow the use of modern muzzleloaders but still prohibit the use of centerfire rifles"
??
It's as easy as going to the Indiana DNR website to confirm.
For many years now, Indiana has allowed rifles for dear hunting.
I personally use a .357 Magnum lever action rifle.
Of course, there are caliber restrictions.