Decisions....

Dan

Here's a question for the rifle aficianados.
I have recently decided that I need a rifle (no, it's not because of Y2K :) ).

I want 1 or 2 rifles to fulfill the following parameters:

1. Fun, you know, busting caps at the range.

2. Tactical applications, just in case this go bad...

Hunting and competition aren't really my bag, so that's not really a concern. Varmiting (two and four leg) a distict possibility.

Scopes, I know nothing about. I'm thinking a carbine w/iron sights for 100 yds and closer, and a bolt action w/optical sighting for ranges beyond. Also, I have zero experience w/a bolt action rifle. The only rifle background I have is w/ the M-16A1 & A2 in the USMC, and I have owned and shot a Mini -14 at one time.

Now, my ideas are:

Option 1: An AR-15 with a carbine upper, and a flattop upper w/optics for longer ranges (see above). This could get pricey. I don't know if I could swing this set up. I would probably get the carbine first, then plan on the flattop later.

Option 2: A Mini-14 (no scope) for 100 yds and closer, and a lower end "Tactical" (looks and name do count for something, I'm shallow, I know) rifle like a Savage 110 FP Tactical w/a mid range scope. This could be pricey too, but it is more politically correct-never know what will be legal in 10 to 20 yrs...

Does anyone have any thoughts? Any flaws in my reasonings or ideas? Let's hear it.

Like I said, my experiences with rifles is limited. Any help would be appreciated!

------------------
Dan

Check me out at:
www.mindspring.com/~susdan/interest.htm
www.mindspring.com/~susdan/GlocksnGoodies.htm

weather its for Y2K or not, there is a scarcity of ARs right now.

If you want a semi .223 rifle the AR is the best of the pack

Ruger has only one supplier
ARs come from 6 or more manufacturers

check out http://www.ar15.com

read for a week
buy a bushmaster or an armalite
enjoy!

dZ

Dan...