Dan Wesson light strikes

Daniel

Hi,

Recently, I picked up a used 4-inch Dan Wesson .357 Mag (model 15 I think).
About two weeks ago, I fired a box of 50 FMJ Winchester (unsure 'bout bullet weight), SA/DA, no problem.
Today, I fired 50 rounds of .357 Mag (club reloads) and 50 rounds of .38 (reloads again).
About 50 percent of the time, firing double-action, the firing pin would leave a very shallow (well centered btw)
indentation on the primers, requiring a second or third double-action pull to ignite them.
This never happened in single-action, the clubs Ruger GP-100 fired them all without trouble.

The double-action pull is on the light side, could that have anything to do with the light strikes?

I am VERY new to revolvers, so anything I can do? Or just take it to a smith?

Dan,

Sounds like a previous owner may have botched a trigger job on your Dan Wesson?

Mine is 25 years old, and still functions perfectly, as well as being very accurate.

I would get it to a good gunsmith for inspection. Dan Wesson still does repair work on the old models, and parts are available.

Dan Wesson

Bill

I think Bill pretty much hit it. Because Dan's have a very short hammer throw, particularly in DA, the firing pin is not hitting the primer with enough force. As you've stated its less of a problem when firing SA. Winchester primers are soft so that's probably why there was no problem with that ammo. I use Winchester primers in all my reloads for that reason.
Does the hammer slip off the sear if you push forward on it while the revolver is cocked? (Be sure the gun is unloaded before trying). This is one of the fastest ways to detect a poor trigger job. If it does fall during the test take it to a gunsmith or send it to Dan Wesson directly.