Dakota vs Christensen Arms

Flyboy1969

Inactive
I need some advice, i'm looking to purchase at Dakota 300 WinMag or a Christensen Arms 300 RUM. They're both the same price $2999.99 as the Dakota is on sale close out at Cabela's. Getting a clear answer which one is a better rifle just varies on who you ask at the store and I'm not an expert and know very little about either.

Function will be near the same between the two. Form is a matter of personal opinion. How well the rifle fits you should also be a deciding factor.

Try them both on for size and see which one speaks to you the most. You can't go wrong with either choice...

Thanks Percision shooter, the christianson arms just felt really good in my hands but I have not yet held the Dakota as the rifle I am getting from Cabela's is in another state and needs to be shipped to me if I purchase it. What are your thoughts via the 300 bs the 300 RUM?

300 RUM costs more, is harder to find, and will be harder hitting on the animal and the shoulder.
300 Win Mag costs less, pretty much every gun shop will have ammo for it, will be a little less hard hitting but there isn't an animal that walks, crawls, flys, or rides on pixie dust that can't be killed with it.

If you reload, all points are moot as you can make any loading you want...

Unless you know exactly why you want a 300 RUM, I'd go with the 300 Win Mag. I haven't fired a 300 RUM, but I have fired the similar 300 Weatherby and the recoil is brutal, like a sharp punch in the face. Ammo will be hard to find and expensive if you do. It's the kind of thing you don't want to get into unless you have a very specific reason why a 300 Win Mag just won't cut it.

So have you fired either cartridge before and what sort of hunting do you have in mind?

@3,000.00 for just one hunting rifle is silly.

Also the 300 Rum is going to hurt someone.

:p

MAIN-SUMMIT-855x267.png