DA Revolver Shooting Techniques

S.F. 1357

I've just recently gotten into revolver shooting. I've been shooting handguns for a few years now and the majority of my time and training has been spent shooting only semi-autos. I've done some casual target shooting with a few revolvers but it wasn't until I actually tried a combat course did I realize I need to develop my revolver skills.

I was wondering if anyone out there can lend me some tips on the proper grip and trigger techniques when shooting a revolver. I know some of you may have different opinions but I feel I can learn more by hearing as much as I can from everyone.

Thanks,

Hold the revolver as high as possible and firmly.While shooting a semi auto double handed, my thumbs are pointed forward , in a pararallel fashion, revolver makes me cross them for D.A., weak hand over strong hand thumb while pressing down hard.
Revolver should also be an extension of the forearm line but that is the same for semi auto.

Dry firing at home was my greatest help and, at the range, only loading three or four hot cases and the rest fired cases.
Like this you can control flinching and will advance fast.

Good shooting!

Definitely not to cross thumb behind hammer for D.A., you'd pinch it.
Bill Jordan recommends to cross thumbs behind hammer for S.A. to cock hammer rapidly.

Believe it or not, you can shoot DA well with one hand. Rule is still to keep sight picture and squeeze trigger. If shooting two hand (assuming right hand is strong hand), keep left thumb on top left of right thumb. Trigger is pulled with middle joint of index finger, not first joint as in single action fire.

Jim

If you see George Knox, rangemaster for the Sheriff's Dept., he can give you a few pointers. He's one of the best instructors I have ever met.

Good pointers given above. BTW, my hands are small enough that I cross my thumbs. I don't get hammer bite and it gives me better control.