Custom .308 or off the shelf?

slickpuppy

I am new to this caliber and have been looking around at some of the rifles out there and I guess maybe I am too picky. I looked at the Remingtons, Winchesters, and Savages and they don't really float my boat. About the only thing I see that I like off the shelf is the Steyr SBS Tactical McMillan rifle in .308. I was wanting to use the rifle to get started in long range target shooting, mostly at 600 yards. Having reviewed posts from a lot of the experts floating around with long range experience it is my understanding that .308 would not be a great choice for 1000 yard competition if I expand my horizons to that distance (correct me if I am wrong). If I were to have a bolt gun built around .308 what would be a good action/barrel/barrel twist combination? Would it be worthwhile to find an old Mauser 98 action to use? I have a Kreiger barrel on a custom AR15 that shoots sub moa when I do my part. Is the Kreiger a good choice for .308? I know there are 2 camps regarding button rifling versus hammer forged, but isn't barrel life for hammer forged much greater than a button rifled barrel? Also, could anyone give me a ballpark price for the Steyr SBS Tactical McMillan vs. custom built bolt gun with comparable stocks, etc? Thanks for any insight and enlightenment you can provide.

[This message has been edited by slickpuppy (edited October 22, 1999).]

International Palma competition is shot at 1000 yards and by regulation, the only cartridge allowed is a .308 Win with a 155 gr Sierra projectile. In the right hands, the .308 can be a good and effective long range caliber.

Hope this helps, Mikey

------------------
When Guns Are Outlawed, I Will Be Another One Of The Quarter Million Violators Who Are Not Prosecuted