Crimping questions

Micro man

I’ve been reloading off and on for many years and now have more time available since I retired. I have mostly reloaded pistol calibers, 38/357, 9mm and 45ACP.
I have always had questions about proper crimping . I know you typically roll crimp for revolvers and taper crimp for semi-autos, but that’s about the extent of my knowledge. I’m hoping someone on the forum could point me to some good reference material or articles or internet source to help me increase my knowledge about light,medium,or heavy crimps etc. I have no idea about crimping for rifle calibers either.

Thanks for any information you can provide.

This is interesting. I setup semiauto crimp to be enough to stop bullet movement for 5 feedings. Revolver I set by the eye test and confirm the 6th round hasn’t moved…..

Not sure about further study.

How to zero point calibrate crimp:

1)After seating the bullets into the cartridges, back out the seating stem. 2)Raise the ram all the way up then spin the crimper portion of the reloading die in until it interferes with the case mouth. 3) with the ram still raised finger tighten as hard as you can the crimper, then slightly lower the ram adjust the crimper die one quarter turn tighter, crimp the cartridge then check for proper feeding and chamber fitment aka the plunk test.

Usually this works just fine I'm using Lee dies for 9 mm and RCBS dies for 38 and 357 Magnum. For centerfire rifle I use the lee collet crimp dies they are activated from pressure against the shell holder. Set up is pretty much the same

Some reloading data will suggest a measurement at the case mouth for rimless semi auto ammo.

Crimping is done as an extra step to keep the bullet from moving/being moved in the case. In some situations, this is a needed, necessary step. In others, not so much.