CPR

Cobraman,
If you don't mind, could we also ask about AEDs (Automated External Defibrillator)?

- CPR Instructor Trainer with Am. Heart Ass'n
- First Aid, CPR, & AED Instructor Trainer with National Safety Council
- AED training as part of EMT-Basic

I've been Red Cross certified in First Aid/CPR for over 30 years. I was a very active EMT/A for 13 years.

Neil Casper

Sure you can count AED's I am First Aid and CPr cetified. I worked as Lifeguard and a Lifeguard instructor through high school and college. At one time someone petitioned the Red Cross to include bottled oxygen and AED devices in the Lifeguard Training class. Sounding like a bad idea to me. Eventually they dropped the idea. Pool decks and Electic devices is not a good idea. Plus Chlorine gas and bottled O2 and Hcl acid did sound like a safe storage combination to me either.

OK... lets get this back on a firearm topic! ;)

Those of you that are certified/licenced in CPR and or EMT here is the question.

If you become involved in a defenseive situation and you fire on someone. You score a decisive hit which stops his aggression due to trama from the wound.

After securing the area (removing weapon from his reach) do you then start to administer first aid?!?

If you don't and he dies think of how his families lawyer(s) will use your unaction.

If you do and he dies you could be accused of not only shooting him but following up to cause his death.

Hmmmmmmm.... what to do? WHAT to do? Anyone?

------------------
Schmit, GySgt, USMC(Ret)
NRA Life, Lodge 1201-UOSSS
"Si vis Pacem Para Bellum"

Hey guys, I got my EMT-B license/certificate thingy in 1996. I had planned to get on a service then, but plans changed a bit and I enrolled in RN school. Since I'm in school, I let the EMT-B lapse as it is hard to get recertified if you're not actively working with a service.
Currently still have CPR cert., but lost the AED cert when I let the EMT run out.
Knock on wood, I may graduate with my RN this summer.