Coyote with a 1911?

Fatelvis

Has anyone here ever hunted, specifically, for Coyote, with a 1911? It sounds fun to me, and I was wondering your method of hunting, and what type of terrain you hunted. Thanks-

Well, you'd be limited pretty much to daytime, which ain't the best time for most coyote hunting.

And, limited to close range, as well.

However, if you're really good at calling them in, and choose the right time of the month for moonrise/moonlight--they're more active in daylight when there's a lot of moon--you could get them close enough, I guess.

I'd call it a sport for the highly skilled.

Art

Yes, I have taken a number of coyotes with my Colt Officers Model and 185 grain handloads.
All were taken while calling in heavy brush. The terrain was flat desert in mesquite groves. Average shot was probably over five yards and less than 10. Call was a Johnney Stewart electronic caller with a rabbit in distress tape. I am not an expert coyote hunter. I have hunted them by calling and also by spotlighting them at night. When calling, I normally set up in thick brush and hunt with handguns. When I first tryed my hand at it, I took along both a rifle and a pistol. After all, we have all seen varmint rifles in the magazines and catalogs, and I was varmint hunting. I found that a scoped rifle is all but useless in this senario. My hunting buddy does OK with his CAR15. In this thick brush you can't see further than maybe 10 yards. If they are further than that, I wouldn't be able to see them. Using the electronic caller, we put the speaker away from where we are sitting. The coyotes normally run right to the speaker. It is only a question of the route they choose to get there. I would guess that the vast majority of them come in downwind and we never see them. I have sat atop a distant hill and watched this all unfold as my buddy called.