Could this really be legal?

CowTowner

OK, I hope this doesn't come off as a drive-by.
But the article linked to below, discusses a proposed Texas law taking "sovereignty" to a level I'm not sure would pass any federal legal challenge.
Can the State of Texas really enact legislation that permits the manufacture, distribution and sale of firearms, ammunition and parts without the feds being involved in any way? Even if these activities are only for intrastate commerce?

Here's the news story:
http://www.star-telegram.com/legislature/story/1355073.html

I'm not a lawyer or even a highly educated man. But this doesn't seem to pass any smell test I can come up with.
Any help in understanding this is greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
There's a couple of other state's (Montana, Alaska IIRC) that are trying it too.

I like it.....but the problem is this, it'll end up like California and their "legal pot" system. California says you can get a cannabis card and go to their distribution center (regulated by the county), pick up some pot, go home and smoke it. Federal law says this is a big no no. So now, these people who are "legally" smoking pot get picked up and arrested by DEA under Federal drug laws. The feds will enforce the laws of the federal government regardless of what the state says is ok.

I also like it and say 'nice try' but...

I believe we've already slid too far into the hole of an all controlling centralized government. A majority of the VOTING public recently decided they want a federal government that controls virtually every aspect of our lives. I often wonder why we even still have state borders when you consider that the feds trump state law in virtually every situation that matters.
Also, as hoytinak pointed out it's just too easy for the feds to roll in and enforce their law thumbing their noses at state law.