considering casting....is it worth it?

Jeff2131

Ok, so ill start by saying...
1. Im a bulk reloader for the simple fact of recreational shooting once or twice a week.
2. I know absolutely nothing about casting bullets
3. Im a forklift mechanic who has access to alot of lead contained within junk batteries.
4. I know nothing about casting...hahaha

Ok so, ive been considering casting. Here are my questions.
1. Is it cheaper then buying bullets for reloading
2. Can you put the copper jacket on the lead cast bullet yourself
3. What equipment is needed
4. Is it dangerous....e.i. lead, vapor, toxins...etc.
5. What is the total estimated cost for someone to start out doing .308's
6. Is it a time.consuming project to cast
7. Is there anything else i need to know or consider as a beginner
8. Since i reload ALOT and shoot ALOT is it worth the time and money
9. Can i use lead taken out of junk automotive batteries
10. If you can jacket your own bullets, is copper or plating better/cheaper/easier

Thanx in.advance for your replies, advice, and knowledge.

1. its much cheaper then buying bullets, if you get the lead for free all you have to pay is the electricity bill (peanuts) and for high v loads, gas checks
2. Yes but i dont know much about this... IMHO you dont need a jacket, you can do pretty much everything with the right cast bullet as long as the hardness and the sizing is right.
3. you need a casting furnace, a dipper, a mould block and handles, a piece of wood, a bucket, and some kind of lubing/sizing Product. For example: you can get the lyman master casting kit for 240 bucks and a mould for 50 bucks and youre ready to go
4. lead does not become vaporized at casting temperatures, but there are some other fumes that arent very healthy. Cast ouside or with some kind of ventilation and you wont have a problem. there are many 80+ year old guys out there who are casting since the 1930s and they dont have casting or lead related health problems.
5. 350$ - 400$