complete noob rifle purchase question

andhen2003

I'm thinking of joining a gun club to shoot clays that also has some pretty awesome rifle ranges, so I'm going to pick up my first rifle. I haven't shot a rifle since shooting a 22 as a kid...a few decades ago. Forgive the total newbie questions, but you guys were great about helping me with my shotgun purchase.
At first, I just want to target practice and get skilled with a rifle. I do hope eventually to do some rifle hunting (which is not allowed in NJ).

- I'm guessing a rimfire bolt-action rifle is a good way to start? I'm not recoil sensitive, at least with shotguns, but from what I've read it's good to start with a lighter kicking rifle just to get the hang of it.
- I know 22LR ammo is cheaper, but 17HMR seems pretty reasonable to me too I like the idea that it seems to be a better flying bullet distance-wise. Do you think 17HMR makes sense, or would you recommend 22LR?
- I've seen a couple of rimfires with iron sights. Is it better to start that way and move on to a scope (which I have ZERO experience with) later? I'd rather try to learn how to use a scope properly, but given that I'm totally new, what do you think?
- Price isn't really an issue for me, but I'm not looking to break the bank on something that I'm basically using to teach myself the basics. I'm thinking a savage or CZ. Any thoughts or recommendations on brands?

Thanks all!

With the money you save shooting .22lr as opposed to the .17whatever, you could be well on your way to purchasing a centerfire rifle. The .17 would also require an oddball cleaning kit.

What would the .17 do that the .22 and a bit of brainpower could not?

As for scopes, I start my kids out with irons, and then move on to scopes.

yeah 22 LR is dirt cheap but 17HMR is still pretty reasonable for the volume I'd be shooting.

thanks. i think it would be fun to learn over iron sights before moving up to a scope as well.