Compare these .44 Magnums

• Thread starter Thread starter BB
  • Start date Start date

BB

How do these revolvers compare in fit, finish, durability and operation?

Smith & Wesson 629
Dan Wesson 744
Tuarus Model 44

1) Dan Wesson 744
2) S&W 629
3) Taurus

Right up there with the Dan would be the Ruger Redhawk. I currently own a Dan Wesson 744 and a Model 29. Actually make that 2 Dans, one stainless one blue. The Model 29 is a fine gun, but the first one I had and used in silhouette shot loose in under 2000 rounds. Granted my silhouette loads were on the warm side but still below max. My Dan has and will continue to digest these loads. It is still just as tight and accurate as the day I bought it. When I was shooting IHMSA the Dan Wessons were the revolvers of choice and usually took the top places.
I have very little experience with the Taurus so I really can't make a judgement.
If you are just looking for a .44 Mag for occasional shooting with less than max loads any of the above should serve you well.
Take Care

My vote would go something like this:

1- Ruger Redhawk
2- Dan Wesson 744
3- Smith & Wesson 629
4- Taurus ?

Definitely, the top nod should go to the Ruger Redhawk; proof tested with loads rated 30% above normal. Equally
as strong and durable as this company's Super Blackhawk
S/A. Just my $.02 worth.

Best Wishes,
Ala Dan, N.R.A. Life Member

Ruger is not an option

But thanks for the replies.

Swamp Yankee, any experience with the Dan Wesson 7445 Supermag? If so, how does it compare in size to the 744? Or the 744 to the 629?

I really like the idea of interchangable barrels on the Dan Wessons, so I'm leaning that way, but I've never actually handled one. I have handled and shot the 629 and they seemed to be very well made.

I say again, Ruger is not an option.

I don't want anything with Bill Rugers name on it.

I'm considereing the Dan Wesson, and I'd like to know more about them.

[Edited by BB on 03-10-2001 at 01:32 PM]