Colt Detective

Jeff #111

I'm a police officer and I carry the Sig 220 in .45. But my wife isn't "into" guns. I own both a S&W Model 36 and a Detective Special with the shrouded barrel manufactured in 1973. The DS is a beautiful little gun, but truth be told I don't care for it to much. Prefer the S&W.

My wife hoever is pretty damm effective with that Colt - better then me. She can get some pretty good groups and she can bring it into action very fast. She didn't like the wooden grips though. However she REALLY liked the Pachmayers I found at a local gunshow in Boise. So now the DS is loaded with Hydra Shocks (I trust em) and next to wife's side of the bed. She's a peaceful person, but she loves me and our kids. God help the guy who comes into the house unwanted and uninvited. MAybe it's not very sexy or hi-tech, but it's a fine little house howitzer.

Just thought I would get that in there.

I've always admired the Detective Special.

I had and carried one for a couple of years, but ended up trading it on an S&W Model 36 simply because I had been shooting S&W's for far too long, and I couldn't get used to the pull-back cylinder latch on the Colt.

If I were to run across one in .32 Long, though, I would most likely buy it.

Jeff#111, it is funny that you asked. I opened a thread called:

"Genuine Non-Political Colt Detective Special Question!" under this forum, the revolver forum, thie very night. Don't read it for my questions, read some of the advice. It will help you.

justinr1

Greeting's Again Jeff #111

There's nothing wrong with the Colt Detective Special. However, I would prefer the older
model w/o the enclosed ejector rod, and no
shroud. Other models of that era are the Cobra
and the Agent. I once owned the 14 oz. agent
that I bought LNIB in North Carolina. It was
still in the orginial box with all the paperwork;
orginial selling price was marked outside the box
on the yellow specification strip. Grab your sock's, cuz the original selling price was just