Colt Anaconda or Ruger Redhawk?

jtduncan

I'm new to revolvers. I'm choosing 44 mag since it meets most of my requirements.

I want to do some target work and perhaps some deer hunting in the fall.

I'm not big on scopes. I like iron sights.

Local dealer has an used Anaconda 8" barrel in like new condition for $625.

I'm seeing used Redhawks going for about $350. The Super Redhawks are a little more pricey.

I reload and seek to work up some ultra-accurate loads but I will be working up some hot loads during deer season.

I've been told that the Redhawks are the strongest made.

But the craftsmenship and SS finish on the Analconda are exceptional.

Which did you choose and why? Or is there another 44 mag revovler with a 7-8" barrel that I should be considering?

I have an 8" Anaconda and a 9 1/2" Super Red Hawk.

The Anaconda is my favorite of the two. It has a much nicer trigger, and I like the grips a little better than the ones on the SRH.

The Anaconda has an over-travel stop screw on the trigger. I had to put one on the Ruger to improve my acuracy with it. Was not easy, because the gunsmith did not want to do it. Ended up doing it myself. It was worth the trouble.

If I want to shoot HOT loads, I do it with the SRH. It's built to take the abuse.

If I was looking to buy A SRH now, I would get one with a 7" barrel. The longer barrel that I have makes the gun a two fisted proposition, where as I can shoot the Anaconda with one hand if I choose to. You may give up a little velocity with the shorter barrel, but it should still be fine for hunting, and a bit easier to carry in the field.

Tough choice. The Anaconda is a work of art. The SRH is built to last forever.