Colt 1991A1

Osuvet85

I just acquired a Colt 1991A1. It just felt right in my hand when I picked it up. I've read these weren't Colt's best due to labor issues at the time of manufacturing, does anyone know something specific to watch for? Will it take full size 1911 grips? It is Commander sized. Thanks.

When was it made? I have been hearing the Colt QC BS for many years and while there is the occasional anecdotal story about this or that particular Colt being a dud, I also hear the same sort of stories about every other arms maker out there. I know it's hard to believe, but just because you heard it on the internet, doesn't make it true.

I am sure that a Colt hater will chime in sooner or later and talk about how he had a Colt 1911 and it was a piece of junk and his X/Y/Z brand 1911 is so much better. As I said, every manufacturer makes one that slips through QC from time to time. I have probably owned over twenty over the years but none of them (and none of the seven Colts that I currently own) have ever had any problems.

The Colt 1911/1911A1/1991's I have were made from 1917 up through 2013 and all are fine guns. One that I carry on a regular basis is a 1991 Officers Model made in 1983 and it has not only been flawless, but the trigger is very nearly as good as that on my '74 Gold Cup.

All full size 1911 pattern pistols will take the same grips. Those on my 1914 produced Springfield Armory 1911 fit perfectly on my 2013 M45A1.

The M1991A1 series was Colt's budget-priced line in the 1980s. Mechanically and functionally they are identical to the more expensive models, but they used a polymer trigger shoe and mainspring housing, and a less polished parkerized or black oxide finish. They are excellent pistols and, IMHO, there is nothing about them that you need to "watch for." I have owned three of the Officers ACP size (which was called "Compact" in the M1991A1 series). One of those has been a primary carry pistol for about ten years.