Cleaning Titanium cylinder thoats

totaldla

I recently started shooting Blue Bullets 240gr .430" 44mag. These are put-put loads running 850fps.
I've noticed some buildup of coating in the cylinder throats (SW329pd), and I've not had much success cleaning it out. I tried acetone. I think their coating is some sort of epoxy.
Any ideas?⁶

I would ask Blue Bullets what to use on a Titanium cylinder.

I use normal #9 for my cast bullets, in a 337PD. Even tho its not recomended.

#9 Benchrest solvent will remove plastic.

Last edited:
Acetone will loosen plastic wad fouling and it will clean steel case lacquer chamber goo. But it doesn't do much to this Blue bullet coating.

As you know, abrasives are a no-no.

I used to have some TCE and Toluene.

I'll ping the Blue bullet folks. I know this issue probably comes up with compensators.

Could it be Teflon? You are screwed if it is. I doubt it is.

You have tried acetone. Did you put everything in sealed container to keep acetone from quickly evaporated?

-TL

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

Could it be Teflon? You are screwed if it is. I doubt it is.

You have tried acetone. Did you put everything in sealed container to keep acetone from quickly evaporated?

-TL

No, I just used the acetone on a patch that I put on a plastic bore brush. I've read warnings not to use abrasives as they will remove some coating that S&W applies.

Acetone is the nastiest cleaner I have available. I thought about picking up some toluene as it dissolves some plastics pretty fast.

No, I just used the acetone on a patch that I put on a plastic bore brush. I've read warnings not to use abrasives as they will remove some coating that S&W applies.

Acetone is the nastiest cleaner I have available. I thought about picking up some toluene as it dissolves some plastics pretty fast.