Chrome lining of a arisaka type 99

Spaz86

First of all hello i am new to the tfl site so i am going to give this my best go and hope its in the right place. Almost a year ago i enherited a type 99 and i was wondering how many rounds can it fire before it shot out. the rifleing and bore is bright and are as plain as day. I do know the rifle did see some use in wwII and it was surrendered.

Last edited:
A US Springfield of the same vintage, without chrome lined barrel, was still going strong at 6000 rounds.

I never heard of anybody shooting an Arisaka that much.

With ammo as pricey as it is i can see that. i mean everything is fine its shoots straight and handles well for a rifle that sat in a basement for 60+ years.

Frankford Arsenal did a study on barrel wear and the accuracy continued to improve even after tens of thousands of rounds. This is in the old NRA Reloaders Handbook. IMO, cut rifiling lasts longer. It was not so much the amount of rounds fired in an older military rifle as the corosive primers and the powder used at the time. Some 7.7's made late had no chrome lining and used inferior steel. Some of them had really ugly bores.

Thank you for that info A+ i have been looking all over and yes i am new to ww2 rifle's. I got mine almost a year ago was my first one. but i do know that my arisaka type 99 was made around 1941-1942 it got on the nice features minus the dust cover is gone but my rifle is all number matching. plus at the time when they made the rifle they was not putting mono pods on and has a short cleaning rod.

Last edited:
The Japanese did not chrome plate the bore for longer life as such, but to prevent rusting from corrosive primers and moisture in tropical areas. It worked very well and was only dropped in the late rifles to speed production.

Jim