Cheapest/easiest way to lube Minnie balls?

DavidB2

I am new to shooting reproduction rifled muskets and am wondering about the cheapest way to lube Minnies? Specifically for .58 cal bullets. Isn't there a push through hand press that you can use in the field? Is bore butter sufficient as a lube? Thanks for all suggestions.

Bore butter is too thin. It works ok in cold weather. A beeswax/olive oil or Crisco mix works well. Pan lubing is an option. Dip lubing is easier but messier loading and less economical with a minie.

Cheapest way is just heat up some lube in a tin on a hot plate and dip the bullets in and take them out.

There are a variety of mechanical implements out there to apply lube also, as shown above.

I use a Lyman Lubrisizer to size and lubricate my bullets in one go when making up cartridges at home.

I use a mixture of 50/50 beeswax/Crisco.

Steve

Your index finger and a 1 lb. can of plain Crisco. Dip your finger in and get some on the end, smear into the hollow base of the Minie Ball - then repeat with remaining Minie balls needing lube. It's worked for years for N-SSA shooting of the .58 caliber rifled musket musket and other rifled muskets utilizing hollow base Minies. I have fired tens of thousands of them lubed that way over the past 50 years and they work just fine in a number of original rifled muskets as well as reproductions. There is no need to lube what most people would call the "lube grooves" on a Minie Ball.

The purpose of any BP lube is to keep the fouling soft - the Crisco does the job just fine. Good luck and have fun.