Century 2000 Sporter G-3 (HK 91)

DougB

Anyone seen one of these or have experience with them? Per the description: "Century has taken original, excellent, H&K kits and U.S. made, new alloy receivers and and has come up with the finest rifle we've seeen in a long time!"

Anyone know what receivers they use? I've heard that Hesse are poor quality. I've also seen similar rifles advertised with "stamped" receivers (could these be "stamped" aluminum?).

I don't have any experience with HK rifles, but I'm tempted to order one (dealer cost: $719.95). But I'd hate to get a poor quality, junky looking rifle like some of the FALs I've seen. Or one that won't work reliably. Any input would be appreciated. Thanks.

Those Federal Arms aluminium receivers sure look ugly and disfigured, but I have no experience with their reliability. They could be outstanding for all I know. I don't think a stamped aluminium receiver would be good.

The Hesse receivers (stamped steel) are pretty much junk. One smith said that he had to adjust, refit, and rework just about every detail to get it to go together and function. The few I've seen have been works of art (abstract impressionist art).

Special Weapons LLC apparently sold their SW3 (HK-91/G3 type) to Century or something, so don't expect anything new from them. I understand they have some FMP receivers, though.

If you don't live in California, put in an order to InterOrdnance for a HK liscenced receiver made by FMP in Portugal. These are very nice and have the cocking tube welded onto the receiver at the factory, so there's no hand fitting. They're expected to come in around March and cost about $500, but get your order in now to be sure to get one. There are a few other dealers that have the FMP, but IO is the only one I know for certain.