Casting lead bullets

wolfgang78

Inactive
Hey gentlemen, im new to this forum. First i will tell a little about myself.....im currently serving active duty in the US Army as a Staff Sergeant(P) and have been reloading for about 13 yrs. I reload 25-06, 500 S&W, 17 remington, .308, 22-250, 357 mag, 45 acp, 9mm, 50 bmg, 338 lapua, 223, and a few odd ball (wildcat) cartridges. I shoot IDPA and also shoot long range comps. reloading has been a addiction for me and it is very relaxing. anyway, the one thing i have never done is cast my own lead bullets, so my question is can anyone give me some info for getting started in cast bullets...IE the do's and dont's. even what type of equipment i will need. any help would be great thanks!

Very large subject but doable. I have been casting for 40 years now specifically for .38 Special, .357 magnum, 45 Colt, 30-30 Winchester and now the 300 Blackout. A great hobby and once you get set up quite enjoyable. First off do you have a source of reasonably priced lead and what do you plan on casting first? I'd recommend going over to Castboolits.com for some specific information. No, it's not a mispelling. Generally, store bought are considered "bullets" and home cast "boolits". The re-spelling helps differenciate one from the other.

thanks so much guys for the replys and much needed info. I really like the links you have given me. as far as a supply of lead... i have a free supply of wheel weights. so lead is free. i will start shopping around for equipment and do some price checking. thanks again. Oh one more thing...should i slug my barrels first before buying a molds?? i will be casting 45 acp, 9mm, and 357.
thanks

It is a good idea to slug your barrel. It will save you time in the long run. Be careful with the wheel weights you get now days. A lot of it is zinc and you don't want that in your lead.

Thank you for your service. Another excellent resource can be found here http://www.lasc.us/CastBulletNotes.htm