Cap and Ball Newbie Diary

Hi,

I am a keen shooter living just south of London in the UK. I enjoy target shooting and am a member of two clubs. I also enjoy shooting and talking with my father in law who lives in Oklahoma. He has been shooting since the age of six.

I am not new to shooting. I currently shoot an Anschuts .22 target rifle, a Ruger 10/22 .22 rifle and a Marlin .357. I have been loading my own ammunition for some time now for the Marlin and enjoy loading the ammo as much as shooting it.

I thought that as I am a newbie to black powder shooting that I would keep a diary of my exploits so that people could comment or laugh at my errors. I am assuming that I am not the only one out there that is just discovering cap and ball revolvers.

The members of my club have been very generous letting me shoot their pistols to see what I liked. The biggest bit of advice was to get a pistol with a full frame. This ruled out Colts as they said that they shoot loose after a wile. They also pointed out that the rear site is in the hammer so any play in the hammer will lead to a sighting error.

This limits me to a Remington or Rogers and Spencer.

After two visits to my club on black powder night and buzzing from all the advice I have purchased a Rogers and Spencer .44. It is a used gun that I found at a local dealer. Generally in very good condition but a couple of screws are scuffed and there is a slight mark on the barrel where the blue has worn. I am planning to fix these things over the next few weeks.

pic

That looks like a Fernwerbauh (sp?) copy. Probably the highest quality you could have found though the EuroArms are very fine too.

very nice

You are getting a fine revolver - congrats!

I wouldn't rule out Colt models though - the steel versions do not shoot loose - that is bull.

I would recomend an 1860 for a second purchase - Uberti would be my first pick.