Camouflage

Dilbert

What is everyone's favorite pattern, both for hunting and overall "good looking"? I like the Mossy Oak Break Up or the RealTree Hardwods.

There's a couple of threads that already address this, but I'll play anyway.

I don't care about good looking, I'm concerned about function.

I've found that http://www.asatcamo.com is probably the best functioning available. Predator would come in a close second.

There are others that use a similar open pattern principle Praire Ghost, River Ghost, Natural Gear and others, but I have no direct experience with them.

For winter, I prefer the German military (NATO) winter camo. It's basically white with a few scattered splotches that resemble spruce or pine boughs. Nearly perfect for predator hunting on the ground.

Shadow Grass

line0665.jpg

Not being a turkey hunter, old worn khakis work just fine. Or any dull earth-tone green or brown...

Peferred source: Goodwill.

:), Art

yea, i'm boring, popular-pattern junkie.
probably have more MO break-up than anything but i think it's a bit dark for a lot of situations. worked well turkey hunting this year, as everything grew in pretty nice and it was overcast for a lot of it... but i think RT hardwoods is probably a little more versatile, especially for fall seasons. then again, i don't think most animals are as critical as we are, and i've had both work for me with both deer and turkey. good ol' milsurp is fine as well.

I use the Mossy Oak Hardwoods a fair amount. Last year I bought some stuff made by Natural Gear that is a grey/green background with brown and black splotches that I picked up at Bass Pro. Like it for late fall deer hunting.

I also like the wool camo patterns that are being made now.

I don't really have a favorite one. I go with the one that blends into that particular terrain that I'm hunting in at the time the best. I don't know if this is true or not, but I've always heard not to mix match camo patterns.

Cheapo