CA resident purchasing in FL

ahayes

Inactive
Hello, I am a California resident living in Florida as a military non-resident. I have been wanting to buy a rifle to go wild boar hunting but I have had mixed answers about my question. I was in Wal-Mart and it said CA residents can not purchase firearms in FL. I have asked many people about this and still have not come up with a straight answer. Can I buy firearms in FL being a military CA resident. I was hoping that there is some exception for military service members. A for sure straight answer would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance

Use your orders to FL and your active duty military ID card to buy any firearm you want in Florida as a Florida resident. When you fill out the form 4473, you list Florida as your state of residence. Some FFLs require a copy of your orders that are stamped or certified by your personnel office. Don't even mention any other state of residence to the FFL, they do not need that info.

First, 27 CFR 478.11:

http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/tex...iv8&view=text&node=27:3.0.1.2.3.2.1.1&idno=27

State of residence. The State in which an individual resides. An individual resides in a State if he or she is present in a State with the intention of making a home in that State. If an individual is on active duty as a member of the Armed Forces, the individual's State of residence is the State in which his or her permanent duty station is located.

Second ATF Rule 2001-5 found on pages 135-136 of this document:
http://www.atf.gov/publications/download/p/atf-p-5300-4.pdf